What are the 9 standards for critical thinking?

We postulate that there are at least nine intellectual standards important to skilled reasoning in everyday life. These are clarity, precision, accuracy, relevance, depth, breadth, logicalness, significance, and fairness.

What are the five standards of critical thinking?

Thinking critically entails knowledge and application of the standards: clarity, accuracy, precision, relevance, depth, breadth, logic, significance, and fairness.

What are the 5 intellectual standards?

To think well, people need to routinely meet intellectual standards, standards of clarity, precision, accuracy, relevance, depth, logic, and so forth.

What are the standards of thinking?

There are nine Intellectual Standards we use to assess thinking: Clarity, Accuracy, Precision, Relevance, Depth, Breadth, Logic, Significance, and Fairness.

What are the basic principles of critical thinking?

Principles of Critical Thinking:

  • Gather complete information.
  • Understand and define all terms.
  • Question the methods by which the facts are derived.
  • Question the conclusions.
  • Look for hidden assumptions and biases.
  • Question the source of facts.
  • Don’t expect all of the answers.
  • Examine the big picture.

What are the standards of critical thinking with examples?

Intellectual Standards of Critical and Creative Thinking

Clarity being easy to understand and free from confusion or ambiguity
Accuracy being free from errors, mistakes, or distortions
Precision being accurate, definite and exact
Relevance bearing upon or relating to the matter at hand

What is the definition of intellectual standards?

The word “standard” is used to describe the level of quality that a given item possesses. So an “intellectual standard” is one that measures the overall value of a scholarly effort. Such standards apply to essays, reports, assignments, group discussions, and even notetaking.

Why are intellectual standards important?

A description of each Intellectual Standard provides a more in-depth look at the standards. Clarity prompts identification and resolution of any type of confusion that an individual may have, thus enabling communication reflecting that they truly understand the nuances of the concept or central question at hand.

What are the 6 critical thinking skills?

6 Crucial critical thinking skills (and how you can improve them)

  • Identification. The first step in the critical thinking process is to identify the situation or problem as well as the factors that may influence it.
  • Research.
  • Identifying biases.
  • Inference.
  • Determining relevance.
  • Curiosity.