What are continuation grants?

A continuation award is a multiple-year project where NIFA agrees to provide a specific annual level of support over an extended time period. Instead of the award being obligated all at one time, each annual budget is obligated in that year.

What is competitive renewal grant?

An application requesting additional funding for a period subsequent to that provided by a current award. A renewal application competes with all other applications and must be developed as fully as though the applicant is applying for the first time.

What is the grant award?

Awarded grant – A financial assistance award (e.g., grant/cooperative agreement) whose federal funds have been obligated in a prior or current fiscal year and may be active, inactive, or closed.

What type of grant is awarded on a competitive basis?

discretionary funding
Also known as discretionary funding, competitive funding is a process of proposal selection based on the evaluation of a reviewer or team of reviewers. Funding is based on the merits of the application, and recipients are not pre-determined.

What is a renewal application?

Renewal Application means a registration application that has been filed by a currently registered family child care provider who wishes to continue registration.

What is an NIH continuation?

NIH uses Research Supplements to support targeted groups of researchers. Type 4—Extension. An extension application requests an additional year of support beyond the previously awarded project period. Also referred to as a “continuation” application. These applications do not require external peer review.

What is the difference between a grant and an award?

For the United States of America’s NIH and NSF, a grant is a contractual agreement for work that will be done, with payments in anticipation of the work. An award is the actual funds.

What is a competitive grant process?

Competitive Grant – Based on the Merits Also known as “discretionary” funding, this type of grant is awarded based on a competitive process, which includes proposal selection based on a single reviewer or a team of reviewers.

How are continuation grant applications assessed?

Those applications are assessed based on the availability of funds, satisfactory performance during the first year of the grant, and a decision that “continued funding is in the best interest of the federal government.” [6] How does an applicant succeed with continuation grants?

What are the criteria for award of continuation?

Continuation awards will depend on the availability of funds, recipient progress in meeting project goals and objectives, timely submission of required data and reports, and compliance with all terms and conditions of award.

What happens during the award phase of the application process?

Award Phase. Once the Federal agency completes the application review process, the Award Phase begins. The final award decisions rest solely in the hands of the federal agency staff with fiduciary responsibility and legal authority to enter binding agreements.

Where can I find the continuation application due date for awards?

The continuation application due date for each award can be found in eRA Commons by selecting the Non-Research tab, then the Manage Continuations tab, and searching for the award number. Recipients must submit a continuation application before SAMHSA can issue an award to fund the next budget period of the project.