What are the 28 states and 9 Union Territories of India?

Here is the list Of 28 States of India and 9 Union Territories:

  • Delhi. Delhi officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi or NCT, is a city and a union territory of India.
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Puducherry.
  • Daman and Diu.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli.
  • Lakshadweep.
  • Jammu and Kashmir.

What are the 9 Union Territories of India?

With the inclusion of J&K and Ladakh, here is the full list of UTs in India:

  • Andaman and Nicobar.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Daman and Diu.
  • Dadar and Nagar Haveli.
  • Delhi.
  • Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Ladakh.
  • Lakshadweep.

What are the 28 states and 8 territories of India?

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh….Indian Union Territories and Capitals.

Union Territories Name Capital
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
Ladakh Leh

What are the 8 territories of India?

Union territory
National Capital Territory Jammu and Kashmir Ladakh Andaman and Nicobar Islands Chandigarh Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Lakshadweep Puducherry
Category Federated states
Location Republic of India
Number 8 (as of 2022)

Are there 9 or 8 union territories?

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

Is there 29 states and 9 union territories in India?

States and Capitals of India 2022, India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022. According to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the appointed day for the two Union Territories J&K and Ladakh was October 31.

Is J&K a union territory now?

The act re-constituted the former state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, with effect from 31 October 2019.

Which is the 29th state in India List?

Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh in June 2014 and received granted individual state status.

Who is largest Indian territory?

Jammu and Kashmir
Andaman and Nicobar Islands: Andaman and Nicobar Islands are the largest union territory in India….Detailed Solution.

S. No. Union Territory Name Area (km2)
1 Jammu and Kashmir 125,535
2 Ladakh 96,701
3 Andaman and Nicobar Islands 8,249
4 Delhi 1,484

What does Indian Territory stand for?

Indian Territory, also known as the Indian Territories and the Indian Country, was land within the United States of America reserved for the forced re-settlement of Native Americans. Therefore, it was not a traditional territory for the tribes settled upon it. The general borders were set by the Indian Intercourse Act of 1834.

How many states and territories does India have?

Hyderabad (formerly Hyderabad Princely State ),

  • Jammu and Kashmir (formerly Jammu and Kashmir Princely State ),
  • Madhya Bharat (formerly Central India Agency ),
  • Mysore (formerly Mysore Princely State ),
  • Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU),
  • Rajasthan (formerly Rajputana Agency ),
  • What is the definition of Indian Territory?

    The Indian Territory and the Indian Territories are terms that generally described an evolving land area set aside by the United States Government for the relocation of Native Americans who held aboriginal title to their land as a sovereign independent state. In general, the tribes ceded land they occupied in exchange for land grants in 1803.

    Which tribes used only one route to get to Indian Territory?

    Which Indian tribes used just one route to get to Indian Territory? Answer Cherokee, Muscogee, Seminole , Chickasaw, and Choctaw nations.