What are the FIPS 140-2 requirements?

FIPS 140-2 cryptography requirements and validation process FIPS 140-2 requires that any hardware or software cryptographic module implements algorithms from an approved list. The FIPS validated algorithms cover symmetric and asymmetric encryption techniques as well as use of hash standards and message authentication.

What are the FIPS 140-2 levels?

FIPS 140-2 has 4 levels of security, with level 1 being the least secure, and level 4 being the most secure: FIPS 140-2 Level 1- Level 1 has the simplest requirements. It requires production-grade equipment, and atleast one tested encryption algorithm.

How do I know if my certificate is FIPS compliant?

ValidateCert.exe /validate-existing

  1. If SSL cert is not FIPs compliant you will see the following message: “Certificate is not FIPS 140-2 compliant”
  2. If SSL cert is FIPS compliant you will see: “Certificate validated successfully and is compliant”

What is FIPS level?

The FIPS certification standard defines four increasing, qualitative levels of security: Level 1: Requires production-grade equipment and externally tested algorithms. Level 2: Adds requirements for physical tamper-evidence and role-based authentication.

What does FIPS stand for?

What are Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS)? FIPS are standards and guidelines for federal computer systems that are developed by National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in accordance with the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) and approved by the Secretary of Commerce.

How much does FIPS certification cost?

The ECR fee is applicable per the overall Security Level to all test reports received by NIST CMVP under FIPS 140-2 IG G….For FIPS 140-3.

Scenarios: Base fee: Extended fee:
FIPS 140-2 IG G.8 Scenario 5 FIPS 140-3 Scenario 5FS
Security Level 1: $8,000 $3,000
Security Level 2: $10,000 $4,000

Who has to follow FIPS?

The FIPS 140-2 standards prohibit agencies from using unapproved cryptography on sensitive data within the federal government. Any contractor or service provider who works with the U.S. government must also follow FIPS.

What is required to be considered FIPS 140-2 compliant?

In addition to using a validate cryptographic module, encryption solutions are required to used cipher suites with approved algorithms or security functions established by the FIPS 140-2 Annex A to be considered FIPS 140-2 compliant.

What is the FIPS 140 Publication Series?

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) issued the FIPS 140 Publication Series to coordinate the requirements and standards for cryptography modules that include both hardware and software components.

What is FIPS compliance and why is it important?

FIPS compliance is also recognized around the world as one of the best ways to ensure cryptographic modules are secure. Many organizations follow FIPS to ensure their own security is up to par with the government’s security.

Is your SBU data system FIPS 140-2 compliant?

Federal agencies are mandated by FISMA to use FIPS 140-2 compliant systems. Agencies that are non-compliant with FISMA regulations and security standards are more likely to have vulnerabilities in their information systems that put SBU data at risk.