What is the currency of South Thailand?

The baht (/bɑːt/; Thai: บาท, pronounced [bàːt]; sign: ฿; code: THB) is the official currency of Thailand. It is divided into 100 satang (สตางค์, pronounced [sà. tāːŋ]). The issuance of currency is the responsibility of the Bank of Thailand.

What are the denominations of Thai baht?

Currently there are in circulation coins of 1, 2, 5 and 10 bahts, and banknotes of 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1,000 Thai bahts. Every baht is divided into 100 satangs and there are coins of 50 and 25 satangs.

What do Thai baht notes look like?

Notes. The Thai baht is available in a variety of different banknotes — 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000. Their colours are green, blue, red, purple and brown, respectively, and they are solely printed on special paper made from cotton fibre, not plastic.

Is Thailand currency cheaper than India?

On an average, India is cheaper.

How much cash should I carry in Thailand?

How Much Cash Should I Carry To Thailand? Technically when you are entering Thailand, the Thai immigration authority expects that you carry at least 10,000 Baht with you. The minimum funds required to enter Thailand which is 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family.

What does 20 Thai baht look like?

20 Thai Baht banknote (updated portrait) They are currently still in circulation. On the front of this green 20 baht banknote is an updated portrait of King Rama IX, King of Thailand. On the reverse is the statue marking King Ran Khamhaeng the Great’s creation of the Thai script in the 13th century.

Where to exchange goods in Thailand?

In popular tourist areas, exchange offices are located every few meters away. Most exchange offices are operated by the country’s major banks. Before the introduction of the official currency, shells, baked clay coins and pot duang were used to exchange goods in Thailand.

Which countries border Thailand to the south?

The Gulf of Thailand and Andaman Sea lie to the south and west of Thailand respectively. The country shares its maritime borders with Vietnam in the Gulf of Thailand in Southeast; and Indonesia and India on the Andaman Sea in the Southwest. Thailand Bordering Countries : Malaysia, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos.

Where is Thailand on the world map?

It is located in Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Thailand is bordered by five countries. Myanmar to the north; Laos to the north and east, Cambodia to the east, and Malaysia to the south.

What are the 6 regions of Thailand?

Ubon Ratchathani, Udon Thani, Uthai Thani, Uttaradit, Yala, and Yasothon. Thailand statistical key figures. Thailand is traditionally divided into 4 regions: North, Central, Isan (Eastern-Thailand), and Southern Thailand. Today for various reasons Thailand is divided into 6 regions, or more precisely 6 regional groups of Thai provinces.