What islands are north of Hawaii?

The Northwestern Hawaiian Islands or Leeward Islands are the small islands and atolls in the Hawaiian island chain located northwest (in some cases, far to the northwest) of the islands of Kauai and Niihau.

What are the 4 major Hawaiian Islands?

But even with these eight islands being the largest, many people only know of four of the islands off the top of their head: Big Island, Maui, Kauai, and Oahu. It makes sense that these four islands come to mind first because they are the four largest of all.

Which of the major islands in Hawaii is farthest north?

Located along the coast of Kauai is the northernmost point in Hawaii’s inhabited islands.

What is the fourth largest Hawaiian island?

Kauai Hawaii’s fourth largest island is called the “Garden Island.”

How many Northwestern Hawaiian Islands are there?

It consists of two regions: eight populated large islands, referred to as the Main Hawaiian Islands (MHI), and 124 mostly uninhabited small islands, atolls, reefs, and submerged banks to the northwest of the MHI, referred to as the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands (NWHI).

What are the 7 Hawaiian Islands?

The 7 major Hawaiian islands are Oahu, Maui, Hawaii (Big Island), Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, and Niihau. Kahaoolawe is the 8th largest Hawaiian island, but it’s against the law to visit unless you’re there for a valid volunteer work opportunity.

Which is the biggest Hawaiian island?

The Big Island of Hawaii
The Orchid Isle. The Big Island of Hawaii, of course, is the largest landmass in the Hawaiian island chain- which consists of eight major islands and 124 islets.

What are the 5 Hawaiian Islands?


  • Oahu.
  • Molokai.
  • Lanai.
  • Maui.
  • Hawaii.
  • What are the 5 main islands of Hawaii?

    Does anyone live in the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands?

    These and many other small islands, reefs, shoals and atolls are called the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, or the Leeward Islands. Spanning more than 1,200 miles (1,931 km) in the Pacific Ocean, all of them are uninhabited, little known and rarely visited (except for a few researchers who do their work there).

    What Hawaiian name are the northwestern islands known as?

    The Northwestern Hawaiian Islands (NWHI) are a chain of tiny islands, atolls and shoals that spans more than 2000 km of the Pacific. They stretch from Nihoa Island, northwest of the main Hawaiian Islands, to Kure Atoll, northwest of Midway.

    What are the largest islands in Hawaii?

    8 Largest Islands in Hawaii 1 Hawaii (4,028.0 sq mi) 2 Maui (727.2 sq mi) 3 Oahu (596.7 sq mi) 4 Kauai (552.3 sq mi) 5 Molokai (260.0 sq mi) 6 Lanai (140.5 sq mi) 7 Niihau (69.5 sq mi) 8 Kahoolawe (44.6 sq mi) More

    What are the names of the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands?

    Smaller islands, atolls, and reefs (all west of Niʻihau are uninhabited) form the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, or Hawaiian Leeward Islands: Nihoa (Mokumana) Necker (Mokumanamana) French Frigate Shoals (Kānemilohaʻi) Gardner Pinnacles (Pūhāhonu) Maro Reef (Nalukākala) Laysan (Kauō) Lisianski Island (Papaʻāpoho)

    What is the 5th largest island in Hawaii?

    Molokai Island. Number 5 in size is the island of Molokai. It is 260 square miles in size (10 miles wide and 38 miles long). Though small in size, Molokai has some of the tallest sea cliffs in the world and the longest barrier reef in Hawaii (which is also the only barrier reef north of Australia.

    What are the different types of Hawaiian Islands?

    These are just a few: 1 Ford Island (Mokuʻumeʻume) 2 Lehua 3 Kaʻula 4 Kaohikaipu 5 Mānana 6 Mōkōlea Rock 7 Nā Mokulua 8 Molokini 9 Mokoliʻi 10 Moku Manu 11 Moku Ola (Coconut Island, Hawaii) 12 Moku o Loʻe (Coconut Island, Oahu) 13 Sand Island 14 Grass Island More