When did Texas stop using inspection stickers?

March 1, 2015
The state of Texas has recently stopped issuing inspection stickers and transitioned to a “Two Steps, One Sticker” vehicle inspection and registration program as a result of a new state law. Beginning March 1, 2015, vehicles are no longer being issued an inspection sticker.

What year vehicles have to be inspected in Texas?

All vehicles registered in Texas are required to receive an annual inspection which includes a comprehensive safety inspection. Gas-powered vehicles aged 2 through 24 years (or upon expiration of the two-year initial inspection sticker) require an emissions test in addition to the state inspection.

Does Texas require inspection every year?

All Texas registered vehicles are required to receive an annual inspection. All inspections include a comprehensive safety inspection; however, some vehicles are required to have an emissions test in addition to the safety inspection.

Did Texas do away with vehicle inspections?

The Texas Senate on Thursday gave its blessing to a bill that would eliminate the state’s vehicle safety inspection requirement for most vehicles.

Do you still need an inspection sticker in Texas?

Inspection Stickers Vehicles are no longer required to have an inspection sticker on the vehicle’s windshield. The inspection sticker has been replaced by the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). Keep the VIR handy as it may need to be shown at the time of registration.

How long is a Texas inspection good for?

one year
Most inspections in Texas are good for one year. However, the initial inspection on a new car will be good for two years. Additionally, your car has to be inspected at most 90 days before your registration expires.

Is Texas getting rid of inspection?

The Texas Senate on Thursday gave its blessing to a bill that would eliminate the state’s vehicle safety inspection requirement for most vehicles. It would still apply for commercial vehicles.

What cars are exempt from inspection in Texas?

Motorcycles and diesel-powered passenger vehicles are exempt from emissions testing in the state of Texas. The same is true for cars that were manufactured less than two years ago or more than 24 years ago. There is no set fee for emissions testing. Each inspection station has the right to set their own prices.

How much does an inspection sticker cost in TX?

How much is a Texas 2020 inspection? Description. (1) A $12.50 fee for each annual certificate of inspection required of any motor vehicle, motorcycle, and certain trailers or mobile homes over 7,500 pounds (Transportation Code 548.501). $7 is collected by the inspection station. $5.50 is remitted to the state at the time of vehicle registration (Transp.

What states have inspection stickers?

Alabama. A safety inspection is required before the transfer of ownership or sale of a vehicle.

  • Arizona. Cars in major meteor areas must undergo emissions inspections every other year.
  • California. California inspection standards can be strict and vary by the area in which you live.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.
  • Florida.
  • Georgia.
  • Hawaii.
  • Idaho.
  • Are bumpers required for Texas inspection sticker?

    To pass vehicle inspection as regulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety, the lights mounted inside or above bumpers must be visible. Texas requires all cars to have at least two red or amber stop lamps, which may be mounted inside the rear bumper, and must not be obscured by it. These lights must be visible for at least 300 feet.

    How much is an inspection sticker?

    The state inspection fee is $10 for one year or $20 for a two-year inspection sticker. Commercial Vehicle Inspections cost $30 and are good for one year. Click to see complete answer. Considering this, are inspection stickers required in Louisiana?