Which branches of facial nerve are sensory?

Facial nerve

Type Mixed nerve (motor, sensory, autonomic fibers)
Extracranial branches Posterior auricular nerve, branch to posterior digastric belly, branch to stylohyoid muscle, temporal branch, zygomatic branch, buccal branch, marginal mandibular branch, cervical branch

Is facial nerve sympathetic or parasympathetic?

The facial nerve provides motor innervation of facial muscles that are responsible for facial expression, parasympathetic innervation of the glands of the oral cavity and the lacrimal gland, and sensory innervation of the anterior two-thirds of the tongue.

What does the 7th cranial nerve control?

The facial nerve controls the muscles that help you smile, frown, wrinkle your nose, and raise your eyebrows and forehead. This seventh cranial nerve performs motor and sensory functions.

Is cranial nerve 5 sensory or motor?

The trigeminal nerve is the fifth cranial nerve (CN V). Its primary function is to provide sensory and motor innervation to the face.

Is the abducens nerve sensory or motor?

The trochlear, abducens, accessory, and hypoglossal nerves are only motor nerves; the trigeminal nerve is both sensory and motor; the oculomotor nerve is both motor and parasympathetic; the facial glossopharyngeal, and vagus nerves have sensory, motor, and parasympathetic components (Standring, 2008).

Is trigeminal sensory or motor?

The trigeminal nerve is one of the cranial nerves that has both sensory and motor function.

Can pinched nerve cause facial numbness?

Usually, your body goes numb when your nerves get damaged, pinched, or irritated. A pair of nerves that run down the left and right side of your head let your face feel pain, temperature, touch, and other sensations. Different sets of nerves control how your face moves.

Is cranial nerve 6 sensory or motor?

Table of cranial nerves

No. Name Sensory, motor, or both
VI Abducens Mainly motor
VII Facial Both sensory and motor
VIII Vestibulocochlear In older texts: auditory, acoustic. Mostly sensory
IX Glossopharyngeal Both sensory and motor

What are the five major branches of the facial nerve?

Temporal branch

  • Zygomatic branch
  • Buccal branch
  • Marginal mandibular branch
  • Cervical branch
  • Does the facial nerve have three major branches?

    The rest of the motor fibers of the facial nerve exit the facial canal and the skull via the stylomastoid foramen. Immediately upon emerging on the outer surface of the skull the facial nerve gives three motor branches: stylohyoid branch.

    What are facial nerve divisions?

    Within the parotid gland, the facial nerve divides into five branches: These branches of the facial nerve are responsible for providing motor innervation to the muscles of “facial expression,” which are frequently tested during physical examination. This is supplied by the auriculotemporal division of V3.

    What muscles are innervated by facial nerve?

    – Extraocular muscles innervated by CN III are superior rectus (SR) infecrior rectus (IR) medial rectus (MR) inferior oblique (IO) – Levator palpebrae superioris – Ciliary muscle – Sphincter pupillae