What are 5 kingdoms of classification?


  • Living things are divided into five kingdoms: animal, plant, fungi, protist and monera.
  • Living things are divided into five kingdoms: animal, plant, fungi, protist and monera.
  • Living things are divided into five kingdoms: animal, plant, fungi, protist and monera.

What are the 5 kingdoms and what are the characteristics of each?

What are the characteristics of each kingdom?

Kingdom Cell Type Characteristics
Plantae Eukaryotic Single-celled or multicellular, capable of photosynthesis
Animalia Eukaryotic Multicellular organisms, many with complex organ systems

What is the five kingdom concept?

In the 1960s, American biologist Robert Whittaker proposed a classification system based on five kingdoms: Monera (prokaryotes), Protista (chiefly protozoa and algae), Fungi (molds, yeasts, and mushrooms), Plantae (plants), and Animalia (animals).

Who found 5 kingdom classification?

Robert Whittaker’s
Robert Whittaker’s five-kingdom system was a standard feature of biology textbooks during the last two decades of the twentieth century.

Which 5 kingdoms have viruses?


  • Viruses were not included in any kingdom of 5 kingdom classification as they are on boundary of living and non-living.
  • This is because viruses can replicate only in host cells, if they are not in host cells they are considered as dead.
  • Hence, correct option is D.
  • Who discovered 5 kingdom classification?

    Who gave the concept of five kingdom classification system?

    RH Whittaker
    Five kingdom of classification was proposed by RH Whittaker in 1969. He divided all living organisms into five kingdoms based on following features: Complexity of cell structures.

    Who modified five kingdom classification?

    In 1969, Robert H. Whittaker proposed a Five- Kingdom System of Classification, in which all organisms are placed into five kingdoms.

    What are the advantages of five kingdom classification?

    Fungi are placed in a separate kingdom as their mode of nutrition differs There is no place for viruses.
    Better than two kingdom classification. Similar organisms are kept far from each other. For example- Unicellular and multicellular algae.

    How many kingdoms of classification are there in biology?

    Five Kingdoms of Classification. Kinds of taxonomic publications,taxonomic review ,revision, monograph,atlas,s… 1. Kingdom of classification Presented by: Ezzah Shaukat Tayyaba Ilyas 2. What are the characteristics of Living Things? What makes something alive? • Living things are made of cells. 3. • Living things get and use energy. 4.

    What are some examples of organisms in the kingdom Animalia?

    Examples include plants, animals, bacteria, protists, or fungi. | PowerPoint PPT presentation | free to view Chapter 10: Classification of Microorganisms – Kingdom Animalia.

    What are the characteristics of the kingdom Monera?

    Characteristics • It includes prokaryotic organisms • Monerans are unicellular • Most are heterotrophic but some perform photosynthesis • two different kinds of organisms i.e.bacteria and cyanobacteria. 9. There are two subkingdoms of Kingdom Monera: • Archaebacteria-can live in the most extreme of environments.