What did Prop 47 do?

Now with the passage of Proposition 47, prosecutors cannot charge a forgery involving less than $950 as a felony unless the defendant has a criminal record. The measure both affects future convictions and allows for people currently incarcerated for crimes covered by the measure to petition for re-sentencing.

Who funded Prop 47?


What crimes were affected by Prop 47?

In addition to defelonizing drug possession, California’s Prop 47 also classifies five property offenses for which the dollar value is less than $950 as misdemeanors: 1) theft, 2) receiving stolen property, 3) shoplifting, 4) check forgery, and 5) writing bad checks.

How has Proposition 47 affected California’s jail population?

Based on a sample of California county jail systems, we estimate a 50 percent decline in the number of individuals being held or serving sentences for Prop 47 offenses. This change drove an overall decline in the jail population of 9 percent in the year following the proposition’s passage.

Can a felon own a gun in California after 10 years?

Convicted Felons Cannot Own a Gun in California Article 1 of the California Penal Code 29800 states that any person who has been convicted of a felony in California or any other state or who is addicted to narcotics is guilty of a felony if they own, purchase, receive, or have a firearm under their control or custody.

How much can you steal in California?

Entering an open business with the intent to steal less than $950 worth of property is shoplifting under California state law (Penal Code 495.5). Shoplifting is usually treated as a misdemeanor — unless you have some major prior convictions — punishable by a half-year in county jail and fines of up to $1,000.

When does Proposition 47 go into effect?

A proposition is typically effective the day after the election, unless otherwise specified in the measure. Since the election took place on November 4, 2014, Proposition 47 is effective on November 5, 2014.

How do I fill out a Prop 47 form?

Complete the Prop 47 form, using the code section for the crime and list the date of conviction. Use the Prop. 47 Petition/Application for the court in the county where the conviction occurred if that form is mandatory.

Are public defender offices helping former clients apply for Proposition 47?

Also, many Public Defender Offices, such as San Francisco, are helping all people who are eligible for Proposition 47 in their county, not just former clients.

What does Prop 47 mean for misdemeanors?

Proposition 47 increased the total threshold amount for misdemeanors from $450 to $950 and increased the number of disqualifying prior convictions from one to “three or more.” Petty Theft.