What percentage of the Air Force is MSgt?

Air Force officials have selected 1,443 master sergeants for promotion to senior master sergeant, out of 17,419 eligible, for a selection rate of 8.28% percent in the 22E8 promotion cycle, which includes supplemental promotion opportunities.

How long do you have to be a MSgt to test for SMSgt?

Air Force Promotions – SMSgt and CMSgt

Promotion Eligibility Criteria
Promotion To: Time-in-Grade (TIG) Required Time-in-Service (TIS) Required
CMSgt (E-9) 21 Months 14 Years
SMSgt (E-8) 20 Months 11 Years

What is the static closeout date for MSgt?

Oct. 31, 2022
The change will start with first and second lieutenants, with the first static closeout date of Oct. 31, 2022.

What is a MSgt in the Air Force?

Master Sergeant (MSgt) is the third Non-Commissioned Officer rank in the United States Air Force. It is just above Technical Sergeant and below Senior Master Sergeant.

How long does it take to reach master sergeant Air Force?

8 years
Air Force employers who are grade E-7 and above are known as Senior Non-commissioned Officers or SNCOs. To be promoted to Master Sergeant (E-7) you will need 8 years of service and 24 months of being in the E-6 grade and you must acquire a 7-skill level.

Do you need a CCAF to make MSgt?

While the CCAF itself is no longer required, an associate’s degree or higher is mandatory for promotion to senior master sergeant, according to the revised Air Force Handbook 36-2618, The Enlisted Force Structure.

What is a static closeout date?

Under the new plan, officers in each rank will be on the hook for an annual performance report at the same time, rather than staggering their evaluation due dates throughout the year. The singular due dates per rank are known as “static closeout dates.”

What is an OPR Air Force?

The Air Force is taking another major step in a series of transformations within its officer evaluation system with the implementation of officer performance report (OPR) static closeout dates (SCODs) for officers in the grades of O-1 to O-6.

What is a 7 level in the Air Force?

The fourth character (7) is the airman’s skill level. In this case, the skill level is “craftsman.” Upon promotion to E-5, airmen begin training for the “7” (craftsman) skill level. This level ​of training includes correspondence courses, more on-the-job training, and for some jobs, a seven-level technical school.

What rank is an e7 in the Air Force?

master sergeant
Like the NCO ranks, Senior NCOs are rated by their “skill levels.” The following is a breakdown of the Air Force’s SNCO required skill levels: 7-Level: Supervisor. Technical sergeant (E-6) to master sergeant (E-7)