What are the five grade of officers?

A five-star general, or General of the Army, is only used in time of war. Pay Grades: Brigadier General (O-7), Major General (O-8), Lieutenant General (O-9), General (O-10).

Who is the highest ranking military officer ever?

The highest rank held by anyone in the U.S. armed forces since 1981 is four stars, or a pay grade of “O-10”. There are dozens serving with this rank at the present time….General of the Army / Fleet Admiral / General of the Air Force (5 stars)

Rank order 4
Rank Fleet Admiral
Name William D. Leahy
Date 15 December 1944

What is the highest specialist rank in the army?

Sergeant Major of the Army (E-9S) The sergeant major of the Army (SMA) is a rank held by only one enlisted soldier at a time. The holder of this rank is the most senior enlisted member in the Army. The SMA’s primary function is to address the issues of enlisted soldiers at the Army’s highest levels.

What is grade A officer?

Group A (Gazetted), formerly called Class I, officials belong to the managerial or highest class of government employees who are placed in Level 10 and above in Pay matrices, Previously in the pay band 3 with 5400 grade pay and above in 6th CPC and Level 10 and 9 above in Pay Matrix in 7th CPC pay structure.

What are the different grades of officers?

Officers in pay grades O-1 through O-3 are considered company grade officers. In the Army, Marine Corps, and Air Force, these pay grades correspond to the ranks of second lieutenant (O-1), first lieutenant (O-2), and captain (O-3), and in the Navy, ensign, lieutenant junior grade, and lieutenant.

Is specialist a good rank?

After 1985, only one specialist rank remained. It was paid at the E-4 level, same as a corporal. Today, specialist is the most common rank in the Army. But some specialists are so high-speed, so good at their jobs, so inspiring to their fellow troops, that the Army decides it must have them as leaders now.

How long can you be a specialist in the Army?

The RCP for corporals and specialists will go from 10 years to eight years of service. Promotable Soldiers in the grade of E-4 will be allowed to stay up to 12 years. For the past three years, they have been allowed up to 15 years of service.