What is the order of the New Years Honours list?


  • 1.1 Order of the Companions of Honour.
  • 1.2 Knight Bachelor.
  • 1.3 The Most Honourable Order of the Bath.
  • 1.4 The Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.
  • 1.5 The Royal Victorian Order.
  • 1.6 Royal Victorian Medal (RVM)
  • 1.7 The Most Excellent Order of the British Empire.
  • 1.8 Royal Red Cross.

Who Refused New Year’s Honours?

David Bowie The singer turned down an honour twice, once for a CBE in 2000 and again in 2003 when he was to be awarded a knighthood. He told The Sun: “I would never have any intention of accepting anything like that.

Is OBE higher than MBE?

Like a CBE, an OBE is an order of the British Empire award. It is the second highest ranking Order of the British Empire award, behind CBE but ahead of MBE. It stands for Officer of the Order of the British Empire (as opposed to Commander for a CBE and Member for an MBE).

Why has Beckham not been knighted?

According to The Sun, Beckham was deemed ineligible for a knighthood after being embroiled in a tax avoidance scheme 10 years ago. Anyone with financial irregularities is given a “red warning” by the Inland Revenue and barred from honours recognition.

Does Beckham have a knighthood?

David Beckham snubbed for knighthood again despite green light from tax man. England footballing legend David Beckham has been passed over for a knighthood on the latest New Year’s Honours list – despite receiving an all-clear over financial issues which had threatened to ruin his chances of the honour.

Why did Nigella turn down OBE?

Nigella Lawson Naturally, as a bastion of British culture, Nigella was offered an OBE (Order of the British Empire) in 2001, but turned it down seemingly out of sheer modesty.

Who got OBE in 2022?

Professor Nicholas Robert Lemoine, National Medical Director, Clinical Research Network, National Institute for Health Research. For services to Clinical Research particularly during Covid-19. Martin Steven Lewis, OBE, Founder, MoneySavingExpert.