What are the 3 cardiac nerves?

They include:

  • Superior cardiac nerve (nervus cardiacus cervicalis superior)
  • Middle cardiac nerve (nervus cardiacus cervicalis medius)
  • Inferior cardiac nerve (nervus cardiacus inferior)

What are cardiac nerves?

The cardiac nervous system comprises the sympathetic, parasympathetic, and sensory nervous systems that together regulate heart function on demand.

Where is the cardiac plexus?

The deep cardiac plexus lies in front of the tracheal bifurcation behind the aortic arch and is formed by cardiac nerves arising from the cervical ganglia of the sympathetic trunk and cardiac branches off the vagus and recurrent laryngeal nerves.

Does vagus nerve have dedicated cardiac branches?

Dedicated cardiac branches of the Vagus and thoracic spinal accessory nerves impart parasympathetic control of the Heart or Myocardium. During accommodation, it causes constriction of the pupil and lens.

What nerve controls the heart?

The principal functions of the heart are regulated by the sympathetic and parasympathetic divisions of the autonomic nervous system. In general, the sympathetic nerves to the heart are facilitatory, whereas the parasympathetic (vagus) nerves are inhibitory.

What is superficial and deep cardiac plexus?

The cardiac plexus is divided into a superficial part, which lies in the concavity of the aortic arch, and a deep part, between the aortic arch and the trachea. The two parts are, however, closely connected.

Can the vagus nerve affect your legs?

This occurrence, called vasovagal syncope, happens when the sympathetic division dilates blood vessels in the legs and the vagus nerve overreacts, causing a significant and immediate decrease in heart rate.

How does vagus nerve affect heart rate?

The higher the vagus nerve activity is, the slower the heart rate is, the greater the increase in the parasympathetic component of heart rate variability is, and the better the outcome is. In HF, heart rate is less regulated by parasympathetic activation.