What does colorless mana represent?

Rules. 107.4c The colorless mana symbol {C} is used to represent one colorless mana, and also to represent a cost that can be paid only with one colorless mana.

Can colorless mana be paid with any color?

Introducing the colorless mana symbol. To cast Spatial Contortion, you pay two mana: one generic (that’s the {1}) and one colorless (that’s the {C}). The generic mana cost can be paid with any type of mana—that means any color or colorless.

Can any mana be colorless?

No, you cannot. Being colored means it requires that color. colorless mana is, as the name implies, without color.

Do you lose colorless mana?

Yep, all mana. I’ll dig up the rule if you’d like. 300. 3 When a phase ends (but not a step), any unused mana left in a player’s mana pool is lost.

Can you gain protection from colorless?

There is currently no way to grant ‘protection from colorless’ by any existing card as a note.

What does the diamond mana symbol mean?

The diamond mana symbol represents colourless mana. Cards that make colourless mana now use the colourless diamond symbol instead of the generic number symbol (a purely cosmetic change) and some new cards have colourless mana costs.

Can basic lands produce colorless mana?

No, you cannot tap non-basics for mana unless they have an ability that specifically says otherwise. Basic lands are handled with a special case in the rules: 305.6 The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest.

Can colorless be chosen as a color MTG?

No. Colorless is not a Color. 105.2c A colorless object has no color.

Does protection work against board wipes?

It doesn’t do anything against any other kinds of effects. So what is the board wipe in question doing? If we’re looking at your typical white wrath effect like Shatter the Sky or Doomskar, then protection won’t do anything.