What is the goal of the EU regional policy?

The regional policy of the European Union (EU), also referred as Cohesion Policy, is a policy with the stated aim of improving the economic well-being of regions in the European Union and also to avoid regional disparities.

What are the policies of the EU?

The objective of the European Union’s economic policy is to create a stable and prosperous euro zone. A common currency improves companies’ competitiveness and increases economic stability. The European Central Bank regulates the interest rates and is able to control inflation and exchange rates.

What is European cohesion policy?

EU Cohesion Policy contributes to strengthening economic, social and territorial cohesion in the European Union. It aims to correct imbalances between countries and regions. It delivers on the Union’s political priorities, especially the green and digital transition.

What are ERDF projects?

The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) aims to strengthen economic, social and territorial cohesion in the European Union by correcting imbalances between its regions. In 2021-2027 it will enable investments in a smarter, greener, more connected and more social Europe that is closer to its citizens.

What is the meaning of regional policy?

Regional policy is the sum of a series of policies formulated according to regional differences to coordinate regional relations and regional macro operation mechanism, which affects regional development at the macro level.

How many regions are in the EU?

The current NUTS nomenclature, applicable from 1 January 2018, subdivides the economic territory of the European Union into 104 regions at NUTS 1 level, 281 regions at NUTS 2 level and 1 348 regions at NUTS 3 level.

What is the most important EU policy?

The Single Market is perhaps the most significant internal policy of the EU. It allows Irish people, goods and services to move freely between the 27 other member states of the EU and has given Ireland access to a market of over 500 million people.

How many policy areas are there in the EU?

ten policy areas
The EU Member States work together in the Council of the European Union, also known as the Council. The work of the Council is divided into ten policy areas.

What is regional policy economics?

Regional policy aims to improve economic conditions in regions of relative disadvantage, either within a nation or within a supranational grouping such as the European Union. Additionally, a regional policy may try to address high levels of unemployment and lower-than-average per capita incomes.

What is regional policy coordination?

Coordination is a long-term issue for regional policy that has gained traction in academic and practitioner circles in recent years. The capacity challenges of responding to a broadening set of issues that cut across sectoral and administrative boundaries focus attention on regional policy coordination.