What are CEFR can do statements?

In order to make examination results easier to understand, ALTE members have developed a series of ‘Can Do’ statements for each of the CEFR levels. These statements describe what language users can typically do with the language at different levels and in different contexts (general, social & tourist, work, study).

What are the CEFR illustrative descriptor scales?

It provides six reference levels (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, and C2, from the lowest to the highest) that are commonly used as the European standard for grading an individual’s language proficiency. …

CAN DO statements B2?

B2 Listening I can understand in detail what is said to me in standard spoken language even in a noisy environment. 2. I can follow a lecture or talk within my own field, provided the subject matter is familiar and the presentation straightforward and clearly structured.

What is the main function of CEFR document?

The CEFR is widely seen as primarily a framework for defining levels of proficiency for assessment purposes. The basic six-level scale from A1 to C2 appears to express a natural progression in language learning from beginner to intermediate level and on to advanced proficiency.

CAN DO statements examples?

An example of a Can-Do benchmark statement for Intermediate-Mid proficiency is the following: I can participate in conversations on familiar topics using sentences and series of sentences. I can handle short social interactions in everyday situations by asking and answering a variety of questions.

CAN DO statements for C1?

C1 Spoken Interaction I can use the language fluently, accurately and effectively on a wide range of general, professional or academic topics. 17. I can use language flexibly and effectively for social purposes, including emotional, allusive and joking usage.

What are the common reference levels?

The CEFR organises language proficiency in six levels, A1 to C2, which can be regrouped into three broad levels: Basic User, Independent User and Proficient User, and that can be further subdivided according to the needs of the local context.

How many countries use CEFR?

Although it originated in Europe, CEFR is recognised in more than 40 countries and is now used in countries far beyond Europe, including Mexico, Canada, Japan, China and Vietnam. Many international high-stakes tests such as IELTS, TOEFL and TOEIC are aligned to CEFR.

Are the CEFR descriptors updated and extended?

The descriptors have been updated and extended in a large-scale international project resulting in the publication of the: CEFR Companion volume in 2020. CEFR Descriptors (Searchable) The CEFR Global Scale and official translations Self-assessment grids Communicative language activities and strategies Plurlingual and pluricultural competence

What is the CEFR and why is it important?

The CEFR is language-neutral, which means that it can be applied to any foreign language learning situation. It was originally designed as a comprehensive reference tool to promote educational transparency and to allow movement between countries for work or study within the European Union.

Where do the CEFR and European language portfolio descriptors come from?

The original descriptors for both the CEFR and European Language Portfolio were based on those developed in a Swiss National Research Project while also drawing on earlier Council of Europe’s “threshold levels” specifications.

What are the levels of ability in the CEFR?

The CEFR describes six broad levels of ability, with A1 being the lowest and C2 the highest. Learners are classified in three distinct groups: the Basic User (levels A1 and A2), the Independent User (B1 and B2) and the Proficient User (C1 and C2).