What are the landmarks of the pelvis?

Pelvic Landmarks

  • 1 Introduction.
  • 2 Iliac Crest.
  • 3 Greater Trochanter of the Femur.
  • 4 ASIS.
  • 5 PSIS.
  • 6 Pubic Symphysis.
  • 7 Other.
  • 8 Validity.

What are the bony landmarks of the pelvic girdle?

Bony Landmarks

  • Iliac crest – the highest point of the pelvis, extending anterior to posterior.
  • Anterior superior iliac spine – a sharp notch anterior to the iliac crest.
  • Posterior superior iliac spine – the most posterior aspect of the iliac crest, identified by dimples at approximately the level of S2.

What are the eight landmarks of the pelvis?

Pelvic Landmarks

  • 1.1 Iliac Crests.
  • 1.2 Greater trochanter of the femur.
  • 1.3 Anterior superior iliac spine – ASIS.
  • 1.4 Pubic symphysis.
  • 1.5 Sacral spines.
  • 1.6 Coccyx.
  • 1.7 Posterior superior iliac spine – PSIS.

What are the three bony landmarks of the pelvis?

It consists of three bones; ilium, ischium and pubis. These three bones are also known as the innominate bones, pelvic bones or coxal bones.

What are the anatomical landmarks of the body?

Body Landmarks

  • Abdominal – anterior body trunk inferior to ribs.
  • Acromial – point of shoulder.
  • Antecubital – anterior surface of elbow.
  • Axillary – armpit.
  • Brachial – arm.
  • Buccal – cheek area.
  • Carpal – wrist.
  • Cervical – neck region.

What are the 4 pelvic bones?

Bones of the Pelvis

  • There are three bones of the pelvis: the hip bone, sacrum and coccyx.
  • The hip bone has three parts: the ilium, pubis and ischium.
  • The sacrum is located inferiorly to the spinal vertebrae, and posteriorly within the pelvis.

What are the 4 types of the pelvis and their descriptions?

The four different pelvis shapes are:

  • Gynecoid. This is the most common type of pelvis in females and is generally considered to be the typical female pelvis.
  • Android. This type of pelvis bears more resemblance to the male pelvis.
  • Anthropoid. An anthropoid pelvis is narrow and deep.
  • Platypelloid.

How many landmarks are in the pelvis?

The cumulative proportion of the sums of pain intensity scores provoked on all the 13 anatomical landmarks of the intra-pelvic side-wall across women with chronic pelvic pain and women without low back or pelvic pain is displayed in Fig.

What are the 6 bony landmarks?

There are many bony landmarks in the femur. The most observable are the head, neck, greater trochanter, lesser trochanter, linea aspera, condyles, and epicondyles. These landmarks function as parts of joints and muscle attachment points.

What are the inlet and outlet of the pelvis?

The pelvic outlet also called the inferior pelvic aperture, defines the lower margin of the lesser (true) pelvis. The pelvic cavity (the true pelvis) predominantly contains the urinary bladder, the colon, and the internal reproductive organs. This space is enclosed between the pelvic inlet and the pelvic outlet.

What are the boundaries of the pelvic inlet and the pelvic outlet?

The pelvic inlet separates the pelvis into the greater/false pelvis (comprising the ala of the ilium above the arcuate line) and the lesser/true pelvis (Brown, 2010). The pelvic inlet is bounded by the sacral promontory, arcuate line, iliopubic eminence, pectineal line, pubic crest, and the pubic symphysis.