What is lower limb in anatomy?

The lower extremity refers to the part of the body from the hip to the toes. The lower extremity includes the hip, knee, and ankle joints, and the bones of the thigh, leg, and foot. Thomas Barwick / Getty Images. Many people refer to the lower extremity as the leg.

What are the 3 anatomical divisions of the lower limb?

The lower limb is divided into three regions. These are the thigh, located between the hip and knee joints; the leg, located between the knee and ankle joints; and distal to the ankle, the foot. There are 30 bones in each lower limb.

What are the important topics in lower limb anatomy?

Areas of lower limb draining into superficial inguinal lymph nodes. Muscles of the anterior/extensor compartment of leg and their nerve supply. Muscles of the lateral/peroneal compartment of leg and their nerve supply. Muscles of the posterior/flexor compartment of leg and their nerve supply.

What are the 6 muscles in the lower limb?

muscles of the lower limb

  • sartorius muscle.
  • pectineus muscle.
  • quadriceps muscle group. rectus femoris muscle. vastus lateralis muscle. vastus intermedius muscle. vastus medialis muscle.
  • articularis genu muscle.

What is the function of lower limb?

A major function of the lower limb is to support the weight of the body with minimal expenditure of energy. When standing erect, the center of gravity is anterior to the edge of the SII vertebra in the pelvis (Fig. 6.4).

What is the purpose of the lower limb?

How many bones are in lower limb?

Lower extremity bones: The 62 lower extremity bones consist of 10 hip and leg, 14 ankle and 38 foot bones. The 10 hip and leg bones are the innominate or hip bone (fusion of the ilium, ischium, and pubis), femur, tibia, fibula, and patella (kneecap) on each side.

What are the 4 major muscle groups of the lower limb?

Quadriceps Femoris: The quadriceps femoris is actually composed of four muscles that comprise the front of the thigh: three deep-lying vastus muscles (lateralis, intermedius, and medialis) and the rectus femoris which covers them.

What bone is the lower limb?

Overview. The lower leg is comprised of two bones, the tibia and the smaller fibula. The thigh bone, or femur, is the large upper leg bone that connects the lower leg bones (knee joint) to the pelvic bone (hip joint).

What are the parts of the lower limb of human anatomy?

Frolich, Human Anatomy, Lower LImb Surface Anatomy: Anterior Thigh + Leg  Palpate  Patella  Condyles of femur  Femoral Triangle  Sartorius (lateral)  Adductor longus (medial)  Inguinal ligament (superior)  Femoral a + v, lymph nodes pg 785 pg 792 25.

What are the three important zones of the lower limb?

Three important zones of the lower limb 1.The femoral triangle This triangle is bounded: superiorly—by the inguinal ligament; medially—by the medial border of adductor longus; laterally—by the medial border of sartorius. Its floor consists of iliacus, the tendon of psoas, pectineus and adductor longus.

What are the muscles in the lower limb?

Frolich, Human Anatomy, Lower LImb Anterior thigh (femoral n.)  Sartorius (Tailor’s muscle)  Quads (four)  Rectus femoris (crosses hip)  3 vastus mm. (vast–big) 14. Frolich, Human Anatomy, Lower LImb Medial compartment (obturator n.)  Adductor muscles  Gracilis  Adductor • Magnus • Longus • brevis

What are the functions of the lower limb ligaments?

Functions of the Lower Limb Support the body weight The ligaments at the hip and knee joints facilitate locking of these joints therefore reducing the amount of muscular energy required to maintain a standing position. Locomotion To move the body through space.