What is Prevnar family?

Prevnar 13 (PCV13) is produced by Pfizer (formerly Wyeth) and replaced Prevnar. It is a tridecavalent vaccine, it contains thirteen serotypes of pneumococcus (1, 3, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, 7F, 9V, 14, 18C, 19A, 19F, and 23F) which are conjugated to diphtheria carrier protein.

Which family member would receive the pneumococcal vaccine in a family?

CDC recommends pneumococcal vaccination for all children younger than 2 years old and all adults 65 years or older. In certain situations, older children and other adults should also get pneumococcal vaccines. Below is more information about who should and should not get each type of pneumococcal vaccine.

What is the classification of pneumococcal vaccine?

PNEUMOVAX 23 (Pneumococcal Vaccine Polyvalent) is a sterile, liquid vaccine consisting of a mixture of purified capsular polysaccharides from Streptococcus pneumoniae types (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6B, 7F, 8, 9N, 9V, 10A, 11A, 12F, 14, 15B, 17F, 18C, 19F, 19A, 20, 22F, 23F, and 33F). PNEUMOVAX 23 is a clear, colorless solution.

What is the difference between Prevnar?

Prevnar 13 protects against 13 types of bacteria, and Pneumovax 23 protects against 23 types of bacteria. Prevnar 13 is given in the muscle (IM), while Pneumovax 23 can be given either in the muscle (IM) or under the skin (subcutaneously). Most adults over 65 will receive one dose of each vaccine, one year apart.

What is the difference between Prevnar 13 and Prevnar 20?

Prevnar 13 protects against 13 different pneumococcal serotypes. Prevnar 20 contains 7 additional serotypes compared to Prevnar 13. In a recent press release, Pfizer stated that the 20 serotypes contained in Prevnar 20 cause more than 50% of invasive pneumococcal disease cases in older adults.

Why did Prevnar 13 replace Prevnar 7?

The additional coverage of the 13-valent vaccine is intended to counter any shift towards serotypes not included in the 7-valent vaccine. In Australia the incidence of invasive pneumococcal disease caused by serotypes not covered by the 7-valent vaccine has increased in some regions and in some Indigenous populations.

Who qualifies for pneumonia vaccine?

people aged 65 and over. anyone from the ages of 2 to 64 with a health condition that increases their risk of pneumococcal infection. anyone at occupational risk, such as welders.

What serotype is Prevnar 13?

PCV13 (Prevnar13®) includes purified capsular polysaccharide of 13 serotypes of Streptococcus pneumoniae (1, 3, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, 7F, 9V, 14, 19A, 19F, 18C, and 23F) conjugated to a nontoxic variant of diphtheria toxin known as CRM197.

What are pneumococcal serotypes?

The serotypes are: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6B, 7F, 8, 9N, 9V, 10A, 11A, 12F, 14, 15B, 17F, 18C, 19A, 19F, 20, 22F, 23F, and 33F. PPSV23 is administered by either intramuscular or subcutaneous injection. Each dose of PPSV23 contains phenol as a preservative.

Did Prevnar 20 replace Prevnar 13?

PREVNAR 20 is a next-generation pneumococcal conjugate vaccine that includes capsular polysaccharide conjugates for the 13 serotypes (1, 3, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, 7F, 9V, 14, 18C, 19A, 19F and 23F) already included in Prevnar 13® (Pneumococcal 13-valent Conjugate Vaccine [Diphtheria CRM197 Protein]).

Who needs additional pneumococcal vaccine?

Additional dose(s) of pneumococcal vaccine(s) are recommended for children aged >5 years to <18 years with condition(s) associated with increased risk of IPD included in List 1. immunocompromised people, including more specific revaccination recommendations for haematopoietic stem cell transplant (HSCT) recipients.