What is the basic skin structure?

Skin structure It has three main layers, the epidermis, the dermis and the subcutaneous layer. The epidermis is an elastic layer on the outside that is continually being regenerated. It includes the following: Keratinocytes – the main cells of the epidermis formed by cell division at its base.

What is the structure of skin cells?

The outer surface of the skin is the epidermis, which itself contains several layers — the basal cell layer, the spinous cell layer, the granular cell layer, and the stratum corneum. The cells in the epidermis are called keratinocytes. The deepest layer of the epidermis is the basal cell layer.

What is the parts of skin?

Epidermis. Dermis. Subcutaneous fat layer (hypodermis)

What are the structure and function of the skin?

The skin consists of two layers: the epidermis and the dermis. Beneath the dermis lies the hypodermis or subcutaneous fatty tissue. The skin has three main functions: protection, regulation and sensation. Wounding affects all the functions of the skin.

What are the 5 main functions of the skin?

The skin performs six primary functions which include, protection, absorption, excretion, secretion, regulation and sensation.

What is the basic structure of skin?

The structure of the skin is made up of three layers of, namely: It is the outermost layer of the skin. The cells in this layer are called keratinocytes. The keratinocytes are composed of a protein called keratin. Keratin strengthens the skin and makes it waterproof. Melanocytes that produce melanin are also present in this layer.

What is the structure of the skin and its function?

Epidermis – The outermost layer that acts as a barrier

  • Dermis – The middle layer comprising sweat glands,hair follicles and connective tissues
  • Hypodermis – The innermost layer made of fat and connective tissues
  • What are the seven functions of the skin?

    – Protection. The skin functions as our first line of defense against toxins, radiation and harmful pollutants. – Absorption. – Excretion. – Secretion. – Regulation. – Sensation.

    What are the seven layers of skin?

    What Are the Seven Layers of Skin?: The first five layers of the skin are part of the epidermis, and next two layers comprise the dermis. The epidermis protects the body from infections, dehydration, and injury. The dermis is the layer beneath the epidermis that contains blood vessels, nerve endings, hair follicles, and sweat glands.