What disqualifies you from getting a concealed carry permit in North Carolina?

Similarly, the sheriff must deny a concealed handgun permit if the applicant is “an unlawful user of, or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug or any other controlled substance.” N.C. Gen.

Can you check the status of your concealed carry permit North Carolina?

Once your application is received the process may take up to 90 days. With the new online process, you will receive emails if additional information is needed and you can check on the status/approval of your application at any time.

How long after a DUI can you get a concealed carry permit in NC?

three years
This essentially means that if you have been convicted of one of these three offenses, you must wait three years from the date of your conviction to submit your application for your North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit.

Can you get a gun permit with a misdemeanor in NC?

Guns and domestic violence North Carolina bans people with even a misdemeanor domestic violence conviction from getting a concealed carry permit, and in some cases the courts can also ban domestic abusers from buying guns in the future.

What is the penalty for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit in NC?

It is illegal to carry a concealed weapon in North Carolina without a concealed carry permit; the only possible exception to this rule is carrying a concealed weapon on your own premises. Carrying a concealed weapon in North Carolina is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail.

How long is DUI on record NC?

Basically, a lookback period is the amount of time a drunk driving offense remains on your record and can be used for sentencing purposes. In North Carolina, the lookback period for misdemeanor DWIs is seven years. For felony habitual DWI, the lookback period is 10 years.

Can you buy a rifle with a DUI in NC?

Under current North Carolina DWI laws, a person convicted or who pleads to an Aggravated Level 1 DUI charge will be barred from legally possessing a firearm under federal law.