What are the general characteristics of class Arachnida?

Arachnids have the following characteristics:

  • Four pairs of legs (eight total).
  • Arachnids also have two additional pairs of appendages.
  • Arachnids do not have antennae or wings.
  • The arachnid body is organized into the cephalothorax, a fusion of the head and thorax, and the abdomen.

What are the 3 types of arachnid?

Three orders—Acari, Scorpiones and Opiliones—include familiar animals like mites, ticks, scorpions, and daddy longlegs.

What are the requirements to be an arachnid?

All arachnids have eight legs, and unlike insects, they don’t have antennae. The bodies of arachnids are divided into two sections, the cephalothorax in front and the abdomen behind. Sometimes times small arachnids like mites and harvestmen have the two sections fused close together so you can’t see the separation.

What are 5 characteristics of arachnids?


  • Body segmentation – usually consisting of a head, thorax, and abdomen.
  • Jointed appendages.
  • A firm but flexible exoskeleton.
  • An open circulatory system – blood is free-flowing in the body, not contained in vessels.
  • Specialized appendages – including claws (crustaceans) or wings (insects)

What is the family of Arachnida?

Phylum: Arthropoda (arthropods) Class: Arachnida (arachnids) Order: Araneae (spiders) Family: Araneidae (orb weavers)

Is a crustacean an arthropod?

Crabs. Crabs belong to the subphylum Crustacean, the largest group of marine arthropods, which also includes lobster, shrimp, and krill, a shrimp-like crustacean. Crabs move sideways, walking on four pairs of legs, and holding their two legs with claws away from their body.

Which of these do not belong to the class Arachnida?

Option D: Lice is a wingless insect of the order Phthiraptera. They are not included in the group of Arachnids.

What are arachnids classified as?

The arachnids (class Arachnida) are an arthropod group that includes spiders, daddy longlegs, scorpions, mites, and ticks as well as lesser-known subgroups.