What are the restrictions of Jol in MA?
Learner’s permit restrictions A permit holder who is under the age of 18 may not drive between the 12:00 am (midnight) and 5:00 am unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, who is licensed with at least one year of driving experience and whose license or right to operate is not revoked or suspended.
What can a junior operator be charged with violating the time restriction in Massachusetts is it a civil violation?
MA police may only enforce this rule from the hours of 12:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. and 4:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m. if the junior operator had some other traffic violation. If in violation of the time restriction, the junior operator can be charged with unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle.
Can a 17 year old drive after midnight in Mass?
Restricted Driving Hours Teen drivers are not allowed to operate a vehicle between the hours of 12:30 am and 5:00 am unless accompanied by a parent. The parent does not need to hold a valid driver’s license.
How late can Minors drive in MA?
between 12:30am and 5am
Drive between 12:30am and 5am (unless accompanied by a parent or guardian)
Can a Massachusetts Junior Operator drive out of state?
valid out-of-state. The holder of a Learner’s Permit may not operate in another state if it is in violation of that state’s law. (Class M) may not carry passengers and may not operate after sunset or before sunrise.
When can you drive friends around?
During the first 12 months after getting a license, they cannot drive other teens unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, a licensed driver age 25 or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor. They may drive siblings to school, for example, but a note is recommended. But they cannot drive friends.
What penalties will a junior operator in Massachusetts?
Time restriction violation: 12:30am-5am
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||Subsequent Offense|
|60 day suspension – $100 reinstatement fee||180 day suspension – $100 reinstatement fee – Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course||1 year suspension – $100 reinstatement fee – Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course – Learner’s Permit and Road Test|
What penalties will a person with a junior operator license face for violating the passenger restriction for the first time in Massachusetts?
JOL Passenger Restriction Penalties: 60-day JOL suspension and $100 reinstatement fee for a first offense, 180-day suspension, $100 reinstatement fee, and a required driver attitudinal retraining course for a second offense, One-year suspension, $100 reinstatement fee, a required driver attitudinal retraining course.
How late can a 18 year old drive in MA?
Every time you drive you should be accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old, has a valid Massachusetts driver’s license, and has at least one year of driving experience. If you are younger than 18 years old, you cannot drive between 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless you are with a parent or legal guardian.
Can a new driver take passengers?
“Tell your passengers that you need to concentrate if you are to get to your destination safely.” So, yes, new drivers can have passengers as long as they don’t cause a distraction. The only limit is the number of people the car can legally carry.