What is service design in ITIL?

The Service Design (SD) module is one of the certifications within the ITIL® v3 Service Lifecycle workstream. It focuses on the design of IT services and covers the architectures, processes, policies and documentation that will enable you to design services that meet the needs of the organization or programme.

What are the 4 P’s of service design?

The 4 Ps of Service Design People. Products. Partners. Processes.

What are the 5 phases in service design?

The short form of the design thinking process can be articulated in five steps or phases: empathize, define, ideate, prototype and test. Let’s briefly explore each of these phases in relation to a practical design process.

What are the types of service design?

There are many different disciplines that comprise service design. The most common are ethnography, information and management sciences, interaction design and process design. Service design is used both to create new services and to improve the performance of existing services.

Why is ITIL service design important?

ITIL Service Design is relevant to organizations involved in the development, delivery or support of services, including: Service providers, both internal and external. Organizations that aim to improve services through the effective application of service management principles and a service lifecycle approach.

What are the key processes of service design?

Key Processes of Service Design are :

  • Service Catalogue Management.
  • Service Level Management.
  • Capacity Management.
  • Availability Management.
  • IT Service Continuity Management.
  • Information Security Management.
  • Supplier Management.

What does service design include?

Definition: Service design is the activity of planning and organizing a business’s resources (people, props, and processes) in order to (1) directly improve the employee’s experience, and (2) indirectly, the customer’s experience.

What are the steps of service design?


  • Step 1: Align Vision and Goal.
  • Step 2: Brainstorm.
  • Step 3: Conduct a Market Analysis.
  • Step 4: Identify Barriers and Limitations.
  • Step 5: Establish a User Profile/Personas.
  • Step 6: Prototype and Test.
  • Step 7: Evaluate Users’ Experience.
  • Step 8: Get Feedback, Improve the Service, & Evolve.

What is service design example?

Examples of service design: Airline check-ins. Comprehensive branding systems. Shipping processes. Customer-service systems.

What are service design elements?

Core Elements of Successful Service Design Understanding current people, process, practices and systems including physical elements, interactions, logical links and temporal sequences. Visualizing the desired customer experience. Building an execution/implementation plan to deliver quick results.

What are the five aspects of service design ITIL?

The five key aspects of service design are:

  • Designing the service solution.
  • Management information systems and tools.
  • Technology.
  • Processes.
  • Measurements and metrics.