Who was the Doctor in the 60s?

William Hartnell
Changes of appearance

Series lead Incarnation Tenure
William Hartnell First Doctor 1963–1966
Patrick Troughton Second Doctor 1966–1969
Jon Pertwee Third Doctor 1970–1974
Tom Baker Fourth Doctor 1974–1981

Who played Dr Who 1963?

William Hartnell (1963-1966) William was the first version of the fabled Doctor when the series first premiered in 1963. William played the role for three years until 1966 when the character regenerated because his body was wearing too thin in the story The Tenth Planet.

How many versions of Dr Who are there?

As of 25 December 2018, official television productions have depicted fourteen distinct incarnations of the Doctor. The longest-lasting on-screen incarnation is the Fourth Doctor, played by Tom Baker for seven years.

Who was the Doctor in 1964?

The first season of British science fiction television programme Doctor Who was originally broadcast on BBC TV between 1963 and 1964….Doctor Who (season 1)

Doctor Who
Starring William Hartnell Carole Ann Ford Jacqueline Hill William Russell
Country of origin United Kingdom
No. of stories 8
No. of episodes 42 (9 missing)

Who was the Doctor in 1967?

Main cast. William Hartnell appears as the First Doctor for the first two full serials before being succeeded in the role by Patrick Troughton as the Second Doctor for the remaining seven stories.

How old was Peter Capaldi when he played Dr Who?

55 years old
At 55 years old when originally cast, Capaldi was only a few months younger than William Hartnell (the First Doctor) was, when he was cast in the role, and is the oldest actor since Hartnell to star as the Doctor and the third oldest to portray the character.

What happened to Dr Who?

In July, they announced they would be leaving the show after three specials, which will air in 2022, when Russell T Davies will return as showrunner and a new Doctor will take over from Whittaker. Her final full series of Doctor Who, subtitled Flux, ends on 5 December.

Who was Dr Who 1967?

William Hartnell appears as the First Doctor for the first two full serials before being succeeded in the role by Patrick Troughton as the Second Doctor for the remaining seven stories.

Who was Dr Who in 2006?

David Tennant
Contents. Series 2 of Doctor Who ran between 18 November 2005 and 8 July 2006 . It starred David Tennant as the Tenth Doctor, Billie Piper as Rose Tyler and Noel Clarke as Mickey Smith. The regular series was preceded by The Christmas Invasion, opened with New Earth and concluded with Doomsday.

Who was Dr Who in 1968?

The sixth season of British science fiction television series Doctor Who began on 10 August 1968 with the first story of season 6 The Dominators and ended Patrick Troughton’s reign as the Doctor with its final story The War Games. Only 37 out of 44 episodes are held in the BBC archives; 7 remain missing.

Who was the original doctor who?

William Hartnell portrayed the first incarnation of the Doctor (referred to as “Dr. Who”) in this season.

Who should play the next doctor who?

With the prerequisite mix of eccentricity, sensitivity, and inner steel, Whishaw would be the perfect pick for the next Doctor. Which is probably the reason his name is frequently in the mix when the TARDIS door swings open for new blood.

How many seasons in doctor who?

The Canterbury Tales: The Miller’s Tale ( BBC One,2003) – Alison Crosby

  • Bella and the Boys ( BBC Two,2004) – Bella
  • Doctor Who ( BBC One,2005–2006 and came back for 4th series broadcasting in 2008) – Rose Tyler
  • ShakespeaRe-Told: Much Ado About Nothing (BBC One,2005) – Hero
  • The Friday Night Project ( Channel 4,2006) – Herself (guest presenter)
  • What actors have played Dr who?

    Actor Leonard Fenton, who played Dr Harold Legg in EastEnders National Theatre and most recently the Royal Shakespeare Company. ‘He felt privileged to have worked with some of the greats of the theatre, including Samuel Beckett, Orson Welles and