Is marijuana a Schedule 1 drug in SC?
Drugs or Substances listed in DEA Schedule I may include: LSD (Lysergic acid diethylamide) Marijuana (cannabis, THC)
What schedule drug is marijuana in SC?
PWID Marijuana (2) any other controlled substance classified in Schedule I, II, or III, flunitrazepam or a controlled substance analogue, is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, for a first offense must be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than five thousand dollars, or both.
Is possession with intent to distribute a felony in South Carolina?
Possession with intent to distribute penalties are significantly higher than simple possession. PWID is always a felony charge in South Carolina.
Is possession of marijuana a felony in SC?
Marijuana possession is a misdemeanor, which is less-serious than a felony. A marijuana possession conviction in South Carolina can result in up to 30 days or 6 months in jail depending on the total amount of weight of the drugs, a fine of up to $1,000, or any combination.
Is Pwid marijuana a felony in SC?
PWID in South Carolina is a felony charge and penalties include a fine up to $5,000 and/or up to 5 years in prison. Distribution of marijuana is handled the same way as PWID. Manufacturing marijuana is also handled the same way as PWID and could be charged when a person grows or processes marijuana plants.
What is the fine for simple possession in SC?
between $100 and $200
Simple possession of marijuana in South Carolina is a misdemeanor punishable by not more than 30 days in jail and a fine between $100 and $200. Clients with a first-time simple possession charge may be eligible to enter a pre-trial intervention program or attend a drug abuse program to decrease their penalties.
What is Pwid in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, Possession with Intent to Distribute (PWID) a particular drug is based not only on the amount of a particular drug a person is allegedly caught with. PWID can be charged if law enforcement determines from a totality of the circumstances that the intent to distribute is present.
Is CBD illegal in South Carolina?
Almost all forms of CBD are legal in South Carolina as long as the CBD is hemp-derived and contains 0.3% or less THC. Smokable hemp may or may not be allowed.
What is a felony in SC?
As you can see, Class A felonies are the most serious crimes in South Carolina’s classification system. Class A felonies primarily include serious violent offenses such as voluntary manslaughter, attempted murder, first-degree criminal sexual conduct, and carjacking resulting in great bodily injury.
What do Pwid mean?
Persons Who Inject Drugs
Persons Who Inject Drugs (PWID) Infections among Persons Who Inject Drugs. Support to Address the Infectious Disease Consequences of the Opioid Crisis.