What are the 4 provinces of Pakistan?

The administrative structure of Pakistan presently comprises four provinces at first-order level (ADM1); Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Punjab and Sindh plus the Islamabad Capital Territory.

When did Pakistan have 4 provinces?

In 1970, the second military President, Yahya Khan, abolished the political structure of West Pakistan and established four new provinces: Sindh, Punjab, Balochistan and the North-West Frontier Province.

What are the 5 provinces of Pakistan 2021?

Each province has a provincial legislative assembly governed by Governors of that particular Province.

  • Sindh: Sindh is situated in South East.
  • Punjab: Punjab is the land of 5 rivers.
  • Pakhtoon Khuwah: Pakhtoon Khuwah is also known as North-West Frontier Province.
  • Balochistan:
  • Gilgit Baltistan:

Are there 4 or 5 provinces of Pakistan?

Administrative Divisions of Pakistan Pakistan is a federation of four provinces, a capital territory and federally administered tribal areas. Pakistan’s Provinces: Balochistan*, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (also known as North-West Frontier Province – NWFP*), Punjab, and Sind(h).

When did Gilgit Baltistan became province of Pakistan?

The territory of present-day Gilgit-Baltistan became a separate administrative unit in 1970 under the name “Northern Areas”….Gilgit-Baltistan.

Gilgit-Baltistan گِلگِت بَلتِستان
Administering country Pakistan
Established 1 November 1948
Capital Gilgit
Largest city Skardu

How many provinces were in Pakistan at the time of independence?

The Baluchistan States Union was formed in 1952 by the four princely states of southwest Pakistan. Thus, between 1947 and 1955, Pakistan comprised five provinces and one territory.

Is Fata a province of Pakistan?

The Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA; Pashto: فدرالي قبايلي سيمې; Urdu: وفاق کے زیر انتظام قبائلی علاقہ جات) was a semi-autonomous tribal region in northwestern Pakistan that existed from 1947 until being merged with neighbouring province Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in 2018.

What is the old name of Gilgit-Baltistan?

The territory of present-day Gilgit-Baltistan became a separate administrative unit in 1970 under the name “Northern Areas”. It was formed by the amalgamation of the former Gilgit Agency, the Baltistan District of the Ladakh Wazarat and the hill states of Hunza and Nagar.

What is the capital of Gilgit-Baltistan?


Capital Gilgit
Government Pakistani province
Currency Pakistani rupee (PKR)
Area 72,971 km2

What does Gilgit mean?

Gilgit definition Gilgit is the capital of Northern Areas administrative region of Pakistan, situated near Karakoram Highway (KKH). The city is one of the two important hubs for mountaineering expeditions to all peaks in Karakoram range that includes more than sixty peaks above 7000 m (22,960 ft).

What are the four provinces of Pakistan?

Type Self-governing Province subject to the Federal government

  • Body Government of Sindh
  • Governor Imran Ismail
  • Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah
  • Chief Secretary Mumtaz Ali Shah
  • Legislature Provincial Assembly
  • High Court Sindh High Court Area
  • Total 47,886,051
  • Rank 2nd
  • Density 340/km 2 (880/sq mi) Demonym (s) Sindhi Society
  • How many provinces are there in Pakistan?


  • Punjab
  • Sindh
  • Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. Central Intelligence Agency. (19 August 2010). The World Factbook: Pakistan.
  • How many districts are in each province of Pakistan?

    – Baluchistan – Punjab – Sindh – Khyber Pakhton khawa – Gilgit Baltistan .

    What are the names and capitals of provinces of Pakistan?

    Pakistan has four provinces, and these names are: Capital : (The capital of Punjab is Lahore.) Punjab : is the biggest province of the Pakistan with large number of population, and it has a system of five rivers so that’s why we call this Punjab. Actually a single Punjab word that has couple of words like “Punj” means five and “ab