What grape is Bourgogne wine?

In Burgundy, four main grape varieties are grown. The “red” grape varieties are Pinot Noir and Gamay. The “white” varieties are Chardonnay and Aligoté. Pinot Noir and Chardonnay are the most common.

How do you serve Burgundy wine?

Serve your red Burgundies slightly cool — about 60° to 62°F (17°C) in a fine, wide-bowled glass. Do not decant red Burgundies; pour them straight from the bottle. Too much aeration causes you to lose some of your wine’s wonderful aromas — one of its greatest qualities.

Is Bourgogne a pinot?

Pinot Noir likes the limestone soils in the Bourgogne wine region, which range from the Upper Jurassic limestone of Givry to the fossil-rich subsoil from the Bajocian age found in Gevrey-Chambertin. The Bourgogne wine region has all the attributes for the successful growing of Pinot Noir.

What is the official name of the wine region of Bourgogne?

Wine region Official name Bourgogne Type wine region Year established AOC by Statutory order on 30 July 1935 Country France

What grapes grow in the Bourgogne region?

Pinot Noir and Chardonnay: the Bourgogne region’s two noble grape varietals. The vineyards of the Bourgogne region are home to some celebrated varietals. With more than 80% planted with Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, the Bourgogne winegrowing region is also a showcase for Gamay and Aligoté.

Where do Burgundy’s Grand Cru wines come from?

Eighty-five miles southeast of Chablis is the Côte d’Or, where Burgundy’s most famous and most expensive wines originate, and where all Grand Cru vineyards of Burgundy (except for chablis grand cru) are situated.

Why is Bourgogne Blanc de Noir a single varietal wine?

If they were vinified without maceration, Pinot Noir grapes would produce a white wine. This is the case for Crémant de Bourgogne Blanc de Noir wines. In the Bourgogne region, the wines are mainly single varietal. This “purity of expression” means that each plot gives each vintage its own personality and unique characteristics.